Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum

Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum (http://www.spearboard.com/index.php)
-   California Spearfishing (http://www.spearboard.com/forumdisplay.php?f=8)
-   -   A Message To New Divers (http://www.spearboard.com/showthread.php?t=168468)

rysgates 11-26-2013 03:57 PM

A Message To New Divers

Okay, so I've been Spearfishing now for about 10 months, and still consider myself to be a nube, but I do have a lot of dives under my belt and a good understanding of the whole world of Spearfishing. I just want to share my experience of what it's like to be new with everyone else. Spearfishing is the most addicting thing I've ever done. When you first start have no expectations of coming home with dinner. I have ben on countless dives that I have come home skunked (I came up with the idea for this message yesterday while I was diving, and of course got skunked because conditions sucked), and still have never really nailed a "target species". I grew up spending a lot of time fishing with a rod and reel, and spearfishing is very different. Like everything the more you do it the better you get. It takes a lot of time though, I practice holding my breath every day and still suck at it. I am a very competitive person, and thats part of the reason that spearfishing is so great. Every time I go and it sucks it makes me want to go even more! That explains why I want to go a lot. You have to have the proper mindset to dive though or else you will hate every moment of it. As a beginner you must think of it as just a dive trip to explore a part of the world that we have never seen before. If your only intention is to put food on the table, than you may as well just give up now like half of the people do by their third dive. For me diving is an escape from the rest of the world, as it should be. The ocean is a great experience soak it all up. It does get bette