Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum

Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum (http://www.spearboard.com/index.php)
-   Diving Safety, Accidents and Incidents (http://www.spearboard.com/forumdisplay.php?f=65)
-   -   FII Free Diving Instruction, Daniel Koval (http://www.spearboard.com/showthread.php?t=161072)

rysgates 05-12-2013 12:19 PM

FII Free Diving Instruction, Daniel Koval

Good Morning Everyone,
I am fairly new to the world of spearfishing, and am ready to step up my game. To be honest I am terrible at holding my breath. My static PR is 1:34 and when I am diving I am usually only under for about 30 seconds! I want to take the FII Deep Freediving Instruction class with Daniel Koval, but it's $295, and that seams to be on the lower end of the price range for these things. Has anyone taken this class or a comparable one that they would be interested in reviewing. Are these worth it?
Thanks
P.S. I already posted this under California Spearfishing, but I thought I might get some more info from here.

jstiver09 05-12-2013 03:26 PM

Re: FII Free Diving Instruction, Daniel Koval

I am taking the level 1 FII course in Florida in two weeks. Just a quick background, I have been spearfishing since I was 14 years old (28 now). My comfortable depth diving is about 65-70 feet, with about 1:30+ dive time. I consider myself a safe diver, and never push my limits (in my own opinion). With that being said, I consider myself a beginner and can only speculate how terrible my technique really is. I am looking forward to learning from someone who is 10X the diver I am, and also am looking forward to improving the safety in which I dive.

I probably could have said this much shorter: Take the class, it will help you out much more than the $500 speargun you have probably already splurged for...

flamencoguru 05-12-2013 03:30 PM