Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > Spearfishing Gear > All About Guns

All About Guns What's your weapon of choice, and why? Discuss the beloved speargun here!

Old 11-07-2017, 09:52 PM   #1
wyatt youngs

Maple, Hickory, Walnut

Maple, Hickory or walnut. Any of these make good wood for guns? also have oak, which i know isn't the greatest but i also know it works haha. Work in a cabinet shop and have this wood available.. but before i go buying any 8 foot boards i wanna know whats best out of my options? im a completely novice gun builder, i built one gun years ago that has worked out but still completely new to this...

Thanks
Wyatt
Old 11-19-2017, 11:30 AM   #2
thereefgeek
Soon-to-be ex-patriot

Re: Maple, Hickory, Walnut

no.
thereefgeek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 11:50 AM   #3
Gettingrouper2
Senior Shooter

Teak is your best choice If avail in your area IMO, Padauk is also another but can be a tad negative in the water, Walnut I have used on numerous builds but needs to be sealed with epoxy. Also depending on what type of hunting you are using your gun for can also help narrow your choice. If the 3 you mentioned are your only choice, I personally would use the walnut. Good luck with your build....
Gettingrouper2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2017, 06:14 PM   #4
Wood Guy

Any of the woods you mentioned would need to be totally encapsulated with epoxy, which is no different than most woods other than the naturally oily ones, such as teak.