Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > California Spearfishing

California Spearfishing Talk here about spearfishing on California's Pacific Coast, and post those reports and photos!

Old 09-01-2013, 05:27 PM   #1
cgoff117

New to site and pole spearing, seeking advice.

Hello Spearos ( as I've read youve been called )
My names Cody and I'm brand new to pole spearing, I went once and I feel in love with it. Some more about myself I live in the Pomona area and I'm a college student.
I have a few question and I would appreciate it so much if you guys could help me out
1. I have absolutely no idea where( or when) to go to dive, I can only go from shore for now and I know your not supposed to give your fishing spots away ( I totally respect that from being an angler), Ive fished in the laguna and newport areas ) wont say beaches because Im not sure im supposed to)
2. I would love to catch bass, however I have no idea where to look for them, ive seen a nice barred sitting on the bottom on sand but thats only one ive seen, do i look in kelp? in rock areas? under rocks?
3. I want to get better at holding my breath, any exercises you guys do?
4. Slip tips and float line necessary or not?
5. (EDIT) Almost forgot to ask, need to get better at equalizing pressure, any advice?
Sorry this text is getting lengthy, help would be so much appreciated guys and gals, I feel like I'm dead in the water so to speak, and I'd love to hear from your, I love this sport and want to keep doing it! Pm me or reply I'm fairly new to forums so be gentle!!
Thank you so much !
-Cody
cgoff117 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2013, 08:08 PM   #2
Spear n Surf
Waterman

Re: New to site and pole spearing, seeking advice.

Hello Cody,