Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Florida Gulfcoast Spearfishing

Florida Gulfcoast Spearfishing Post here to discuss regional action or issues about spearing on Florida's Gulfcoast.

Old 10-20-2016, 09:52 PM   #1
TBSC2015
Reload,Shoot,Reload,shoot

My Carbo

Figured i would give guys something to read.
I don't get to dive much in the central Gulf where the big blacks mainly live in the deeper water or the lower west, and south coasts. I hadn't had the chance to pull the trigger on a black yet since i started shooting in '08. I was determined to make that happen one way or another on our fun couple days planned.

We went too the Keys for a few days grabbing up a few legal bugs in shallows along the inner coastal mainly. The winds were not what we anticipated for our planned few days, which had been planned 2 months in advanced.
Calling 4 - 7' ft. off the reefs, and 2 - 3's within the reef. I knew we were gonna have to man up, plan safe, and deal with the high seas if we wanted to drop in deeper. I knew we'd have too to get a decent fish.
Solid 20 - 25MPH wind kinda shook us a bit looking at the horizon watching the seas bulid. Of course we were the only crazy ones diving out off the reef that day. We were in a 27' Pro Cat which handled em' very well to my surprise. I recall several times the peak of the next wave being slightly higher than the tee top.
We arrived at our destination in 130' the bottom machine had a lot of life showing with the structure below. I knew there would be a really good chance a few blacks would be there, knowing not many have probably dove since the hurricane. Current was moving good with the full moon. With the conditions, i made sure we were all on our A Game before we rolled in.