Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > General Topics (Non-regional) > General Freediving Area

General Freediving Area If Apnea Diving rocks your world, talk about it here!

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-05-2005, 08:34 PM   #1
bigwill

Question proper breathing techniques ?

I keep hearing the do's and dont's in preparing for a breathe hold dive, I would like to hear the responses of the guys on this board, I am fairly new to the freedive experience( apprx 2 years---comfortable at 40-50 fsw). I was curious on the ritual that you guys practice before making a decent. Shallow breathes? deep breathes? relaxation? time interval between drops????

An old freediver told me to:
1. Get as relax as I can at the surface
2. 3-4 shallow to midline breathes
3. On the last breathe blow out as much air as I can using my Diaphram
4. Inhale as much air as I can, take snorkel out and decend.
5. Decend in a slow controlled motion in order to save air
6. Begin my ascent before I start to feel the need for Air
7. Try to blow bubbles up my entire ascent.
8. Repeat for next dive...

I have been reading alot of the posts here and the group on this board favors safety first and I feel the same, I would appreciate any suggestions, comments, tips, you may have. Thanks .......................................... BigWill

Last edited by bigwill; 07-05-2005 at 08:56 PM.
bigwill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-06-2005, 07:08 AM   #2
lmk_tampa
work in progress

Send a message via AIM to lmk_tampa
Re: proper breathing techniques ?