Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > General Topics (Non-regional) > General Spearfishing & Diving Discussion

General Spearfishing & Diving Discussion This is where you post to discuss general spearfishing topics that could apply to any region.

Old 02-01-2017, 11:11 PM   #1
kingfisherflesh
Happy Huntin'

Recommendations for Bluewater Inflatable Float

Hey guys -

I have been compiling gear towards a bluewater setup, and I have a 7L and 12L hard, foam filled RA floats.

I have a couple different float lines, clutch, bungees, spill pack etc.

I am looking for a best bang for buck option for that last inflatable float.

I am working in Tonga - and hoping to just have something that will let me land most of the fish I will run into. I am new to bluewater, but not to spearfishing, and doubt that I will have chances at anything big - but definitely need something more than the hard floats.

Is the Riffe 3 ATM worth it? Or should I just get a 15L mako float?

I appreciate any and all information on this as there is a wide variety of products at a huge range of prices and I have experience with none of this.

Thanks

WISCONSIN SPEARGUN HUNTERS
kingfisherflesh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 04:50 AM   #2
AK_FishTech

Re: Recommendations for Bluewater Inflatable Float

I like my spearmaster 30L tough, simple, dependable.
AK_FishTech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2017, 05:28 AM   #3
kavachi
the deeper the blue.....

not unusual to come across cow yellowfin or even blue marlin just drifting off the points in Tonga - make a Tommy Botha tuna board and you wont be caught short! if diving anchored in current the two RA floats usually sufficient.....until a big doggie heads for the bottom - and you wish you were clipped onto that botha board
kavachi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-04-2017, 11:29 AM   #4
getawayFK
Spearo-doc