Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > International Section > Other International

Other International Here is an area for shooters from Europe, Asia, Africa, and all points in between.

Old 01-25-2013, 04:01 PM   #1
Fishfried

Total newb, Los Barriles, East Cape, Baja

First post! Yep, I've been lurking for a while reading posts. Thinking about trying to get a fish or two spearfishing while I'm in Baja Mexico this Spring. While snorkeling on vacation at Isla Mujeres last Fall I got close to loads of fish and really would've like to try my hand at spearfishing.
I was thinking of a travel pole spear, it would be an inexpensive way to get into the sport. I have been to baja a couple times but in a different town. I'm hoping to get some input on the Los Barriles area. We'll have the beach right outside the back door of the house we are renting. I hope there are maybe some pompano, triggerfish or other smaller fish I can chase down.
Fishfried is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 05:23 PM   #2
robbiedublu

Re: Total newb, Los Barriles, East Cape, Baja

I go there several times a year. I doubt you'll have much luck with a pole spear. You have to get within a couple of feet with that and the fish are just too wary in general. I use a 110 aimrite right off the beach there which has a max range of maybe 15 ft or so and even with that I frequently wish I had a few more feet.
Just in general, the further away from town you get, the more reef type fish you'll see. If i'm driving I go a few miles north of town to punta pescadero. On an atv I head south. Just look for rocky areas. Even if it's windy you can usually get a few hours in early in the morning as the wind usually stays down until late morning/ early afternoon. Good luck!
robbiedublu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2013, 08:40 PM   #3
Fishfried