Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > California Off-Topic

California Off-Topic Remember that politics/religion and general off-topic belong in Special Forums.

Old 04-05-2018, 05:22 PM   #1
Diver278

Roller gun bands

Hi I would like to know how you guys measure your band length. Or what your formula is. Thanks
Diver278 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2018, 06:21 PM   #2
Diver278

Re: Roller gun bands

Wow 898 views and no reply. Can’t believe everyone has spearguns with no rubber on them.
Old 04-19-2018, 07:39 PM   #3
jersymudsniper

I am no pro and dont do the formula stuff for any type of gun. Not saying you shouldnt. Or it wouldnt work better. But i dont. My rollers i just set up with about 4 or 5 inches of pretension. My band guns i grab the band pull on it and say…… .mmmm thats about right.
jersymudsniper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2018, 10:12 PM   #4
Fox55

so this is just me and well I'm a spear o soooo some people say I'm some what Psychotic but i prefer eccentric masochist!!!

Anyway this is what i do. on top, measure from the closest anchor to the trigger mech on your spear to the center of the roller, then on the bottom measure from the roller to your anchor, closest anchor to the trigger mech then add them together then take that number and divide by your band stretch %. so say 300% that would be 3.0 and 350% would be 3.5 me i go with 325% so 3.25..
so my wood and carbon fiber roller is 36 on top and 16 on the bottom = 52 then divide by 3.25=16 OK now you have to add 1'' for your constrictor knots so you end up with 17''.