Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > Spearfishing Gear > All About Guns

All About Guns What's your weapon of choice, and why? Discuss the beloved speargun here!

Old 05-19-2016, 01:50 PM   #1
Grizzlestomp

Mid-Handle, 2+ Band Blue-Water Roller Build

Having shot a friend's Alemmanni down in Mexico, I've decided to build a massive roller gun. Unfortunately, I have a lot of gaps in my knowledge of the required details to get things perfect.

I plan to build a monster. 70-72", mid-handle, 11/64" shaft, 2 5/8 bands (with at least one of the bands doubled on the bottom of the gun). Super heavy barrel to try and get the recoil as close to zero as possible.

Before I get out my graph paper and engineer this badboy, I need to assemble the hardware.

Is there any consensus out there as to the best rollers for heavy-load, 5/8" bands?

The few I've seen so far are (1) the MannySub rollers with glass/nylon bearings and (2) the Stainless Steel Meandros bearings and rollers.

Any and all feedback is greatly appreciated.

Once I get the rollers, measure the diameter, and plot out where the bands will sit on the top and bottom of the gun, I can figure out how to shape/taper the barrel.

I was also wondering if anyone used different sized rollers (i.e. smaller diameter rollers on the outside of the gun) so that the bands could more closely lay flat against a heavily tapered barrel (see pictures below where the different size rollers would seem to enable a much more tapered barrel without a gap between the band and the barrel).
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Same size.jpg
Views:	510
Size:	46.9 KB
ID:	226303   Click image for larger version

Name:	Diff Size.jpg
Views:	480
Size:	34.4 KB
ID:	226304  
Grizzlestomp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 02:50 PM   #2
cksea

Re: Mid-Handle, 2+ Band Blue-Water Roller Build