Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > Spearfishing Gear > All About Guns

All About Guns What's your weapon of choice, and why? Discuss the beloved speargun here!

Old 08-03-2013, 11:01 PM   #1
scottyboy679

Smile Speargun Advice. All opinions welcome

Hello Spearboard,

I am currently looking to buy a new speargun and I was wondering if anyone had an opinion on good brands, styles, etc.

I have been spearfishing for 4 years and have been using my 120 cm Mako Oceanic for all of those years. I love the gun, but I feel like it is time to add a gun to my collection (very small collection of 1) to change things up.

I am looking for a gun that could be used as a hybrid between kelp beds and blue water since I like in Southern California. I am thinking along the lines of a wooden gun, or maybe even a hybrid and Wong spearguns have caught my eye since they have a lifetime warranty and I have only heard good things about them.

So I have some questions that I hope can be answered or for someone to shine some light on them for me:

What are the benefits of a hybrid gun compared to a wood gun?
What size would be good?
Are there any great wooden gun brands that I should consider besides for Wong and Riffe?
What makes a gun a Euro gun and what are the advantages/disadvantages?

Any information would be awesome.

Thanks for your time,

Scott

P.S. I just graduated from college and have a lot of spare time on my hands now so if anyone is looking for a dive buddy in the Long Beach, LA, or OC area send me a PM.
scottyboy679 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:12 PM   #2
apexdiver
Tony

Re: Speargun Advice. All opinions welcome

Two threads?
apexdiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2013, 11:15 PM   #3
scottyboy679

Quote:
Originally Posted by apexdiver View Post
Two threads?
Thought I would try out both categories
Old 08-03-2013, 11:16 PM   #4