Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > General Topics (Non-regional) > Technical Spearfishing

Technical Spearfishing Technical Scuba diving is generally defined as going deeper than 130 feet. You must have the proper training for this extreme aspect of spearfishing.

Old 10-18-2010, 06:41 AM   #1
Dr.Clean
Trust me, I'm a Doctor.

Is it okay to use two Octopii instead of one reg, and one octo?

I'm just wondering why there's a huge difference in price between an Octo and a Reg. I'm sure there's a reason why a lot of people don't just use two octo's. Does anybody know the reason?
Dr.Clean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 07:54 AM   #2
IslandFever

Re: Is it okay to use two Octopii instead of one reg, and one octo?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dr.Clean View Post
I'm just wondering why there's a huge difference in price between an Octo and a Reg. I'm sure there's a reason why a lot of people don't just use two octo's. Does anybody know the reason?
You don't get a first stage when you just buy an octo.

And you typically need two first stages also when technical diving.
IslandFever is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2010, 11:31 AM   #3
DiveGal
Today's the day!

I use cheap octos. I can get them for $40 including the hose. To me, they are disposables (i.e. cheaper to buy a new one then to have it serviced). They are only needed to get you or someone else from the bottom to the surface in case of an emergency. My first stage and primary are top notch sherwood. The primary is built much better and I have all of the confidence in the world in it. I wouldn't dive with any of my octos as my primary but I do test mine at least once every dive to make sure that it is working properply. JMHO

And if I were tech diving (which I don't), I wouldn't use ANY octos - all primaries.

Last edited by DiveGal; 10-18-2010 at 03:36 PM.