Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > General Topics (Non-regional) > Technical Spearfishing

Technical Spearfishing Technical Scuba diving is generally defined as going deeper than 130 feet. You must have the proper training for this extreme aspect of spearfishing.

Old 09-13-2009, 10:57 AM   #1
Sweet Tooth

What is involved in diving deeper?

I am interested in doing some deeper dives and am beginning the process of finding out exactly what is involved.
I've been diving since 2000 off the FL Panhandle, but my deepest dive has been ~120fsw. I mostly dive Nitrox and have a Suunto Mosquito computer, Al 80s and a 9 cu ft pony bottle. There are some wrecks I'd like to dive from 150' all the way down to 300' and have my own boat, a Tiara 3600.
What am I looking at as far as education/certification and equipment such as larger tanks or a better computer?
I'd also like to know how the dives are actually handled with respect to anchoring vs marker buoy, how to handle the boat if you're drifting during deco etc. I'll probably want to start the actual deeper diving next spring, but want to start the education and evaluation process now.
Thanks in advance.
Sweet Tooth is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2009, 02:37 PM   #2
Teh Wicked

Re: What is involved in diving deeper?

Say good bye to those Aluminum 80 tanks, I wouldnt dive those in deep water if you paid me. Some guys use them for different reasons while deep diving but hardly ever do you see people using them as a back gas.