Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Hawaiian Islands

Hawaiian Islands Aloha - Paradise exists for the shooters of the Hawaiian Islands

Old 10-13-2004, 11:38 AM   #1
syrespect

tips for hunting Mu

what are your techniques to shoot these skiddish fish?
syrespect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 08:50 PM   #2
Stodelle
www.savestodysbrain.com

Lying still. I find most will become curious and move in closer just to figure out what the hell you're doing.

Grunting/Croaking. I have 2 different grunts I do. When I spot a Mu, I'll try both. Depending on the reaction, I will decide which to continue with.

So far, and I am still new at Mu hunting, but I have only been able to call in smaller ones. Although last week, while working off of Lahaina (working, not hunting) I came across a Mu Pile that had some beasts in it. they were bigger than the ones in the Maui Ocean Center. I grunted them all into what would have been shooting range. this is an area that not many people spear in (never seen a hunter out there) so I'm not sure if it is that they aren't afraid, or that I didn't have a gun.
Stodelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2004, 11:00 PM   #3
syrespect

I think they didn't see a gun... honestly, i think fish know when we have a gun. I heard grunting works well, but i heard if you can get right on top of 'em you can drop down and they won't see you till they get spooked then you shoot.
Old 10-14-2004, 05:00 AM   #4
uluapoundr

Hawaii Skindiver mag had some good tips a while back. I'm not much of a mu hunter, only recently been trying my skills. The best tip I find that works is hiding. Try hiding behind a rock, ledge, or even a bump on the ocean floor. Toss up a handfull of sand and don't stare at them directly in the eye. Dive bombing does work, that's how I speared my first mu.