Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > California Spearfishing

California Spearfishing Talk here about spearfishing on California's Pacific Coast, and post those reports and photos!

Closed Thread

Old 07-02-2012, 02:55 PM   #1
CalHal2014

California Halibut Carcasses Wanted!!!

Greetings!

My name is Cheryl Barnes and I am a graduate student at Moss Landing Marine Laboratories. As part of my master's thesis, I will be conducting a study, which evaluates the reproductive capabilities of California Halibut (Paralichthys californicus). More specifically, I will estimate and compare growth rates, length and age at maturity and egg production of halibut from three central California locations (Half Moon Bay, Monterey Bay and Morro Bay) to better understand this economically important species and provide information for resource management.

If you are interested in donating a carefully-filleted California Halibut carcass (all internal organs intact; you keep the fillets) and/or providing additional information to help advance this study, please contact:

Cheryl L. Barnes, Moss Landing Marine Laboratories
8272 Moss Landing Road | Moss Landing, CA 95039
e: cbarnes@mlml.calstate.edu | p: (831) 515-8232 | f: (831) 632-4403

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated! Thanks and I look forward to hearing from some of you soon.
Old 07-02-2012, 02:58 PM   #2
kevtegr8
Subsistence Hunter

Re: California Halibut Carcasses Wanted!!!

I wouldn't be able to keep the organs intact. I always eat the heart.

Good luck

Last edited by kevtegr8; 07-02-2012 at 03:07 PM.
Old 07-02-2012, 03:04 PM   #3
'o Cino
Help! He's got me!

Congrats on getting to your Masters Thesis.

To help break the silence/ice, a few quick responses would further trust from a group that has assisted "biologists" in the past to our detrimental results.