Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > General Topics (Non-regional) > Invasive Species Spearfishing & Science

Invasive Species Spearfishing & Science Discuss invasive exotic species such as lionfish, carp, snakehead, etc. including news, spearfishing and scientific research in any geographical region.

Old 04-21-2013, 04:51 AM   #1
Adam N

Exclamation NSU Oceanographic Center: Participate in a spear hunting lionfish survey

Hello hunters!

As spear hunters, you play an important role in local control efforts of the invasive lionfish but how much time in effort are you putting out there?

I am a graduate student at the Nova Southeastern University Oceanographic Center working under my advisor Dr. David Kerstetter. I would like to tell you about a project I am conducting in Broward and Palm Beach Counties that will describe the South Florida spearfishing community and incorporate any removal effort of the invasive lionfish (Pterois volitans and P. miles) within this ecosystem. This study will measure the amount of control for lionfish already taking place and compare that fishing effort to regular routine fishing efforts for native fish. Any individual 18 or older can participate as long as they are working with a spear and are a certified diver.

This online survey will take five to ten minutes to complete and comprised mostly of multiple choice responses. The information you will need to gather to complete the survey is as follows:
1. Dive profile, including the average depth and total bottom time
2. Site location and dive site name
3. Species caught
4. Number of lionfish and sizes