Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > Florida Gulfcoast Spearfishing

Florida Gulfcoast Spearfishing Post here to discuss regional action or issues about spearing on Florida's Gulfcoast.

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-09-2015, 04:41 AM   #1
Sprocket_007

Guantanamo Bay Cuba

Just started spear fishing in Guantanamo Bay area. I'm new to spear fishing and for now only doing free diving up to about 25 ft. Any areas I should spend more/less time at? I want to snag a barracuda and a grouper at some point.
Sprocket_007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2015, 10:15 AM   #2
spearo #uno
Senior user

Re: Guantanamo Bay Cuba

Ok let's see...
A. You are in the most beautifull island eyes have ever seen!
B. You already have a speargun and some diving gear/hunting gear.
C. The waters edge is close to you so you can "read the surf" nicely.

Take the area where you can hunt and make it into sections in your head, markers or on paper and start doing your homework.
You need to work these sections to see what they hold even if you don't bring anything for dinner at first as some areas will be better than others for many reasons.
There is something diffrent about hunting UW every time you work an area even if you work the same place over and over because you never know who will be just arond the corner on that day.

I hope this is some help to you as I can't tell you from my desk where your next Cuda kill is going to be but just keep working it safetly and you too will get lucky some time.

Best of luck to you, I just wish I could be there right now!
spearo #uno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-12-2015, 09:36 PM   #3
SC00BAD1V3R

my buddy used to be stationed there. Ill ask him and see what he says. I remember he told me he was shootin snook and grouper.