Home Tournaments Calendar Weather Merchandise Sponsors

Go Back   Spearboard.com - The World's Largest Spearfishing Diving Boating Social Media Forum > United States Geographical Locations > California Spearfishing

California Spearfishing Talk here about spearfishing on California's Pacific Coast, and post those reports and photos!

Old 09-25-2013, 11:54 PM   #1
surf-ratz

Lobster Pre-Season Clarification

Hey there,

I'm pretty new to the sport, love spearfishing already, and am stoked to partake in my first lobster season this year! I understand that you are only allowed to take lobster with your hands while diving (i.e. no spearing) and plan on strictly following all the rules. I was wondering if you are allowed to be in possession of a spear while diving for lobster. I would probably leave it on my longboard (acting as my shore diving platform) just in case my first lobster dives aren't the most productive and I decide to poke a few fishies. I just wasn't sure where that falls in the rulebook.

Thanks a ton
surf-ratz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 12:15 AM   #2
Oceandiver130

Re: Lobster Pre-Season Clarification

This topic has been talked about so much try searching it first and see what you get. I personally use a 4' pole spear with a paralyzer for sculpin and cabs and have no problems. The main law they are concerned with is using something like a flopper as a hooked device, some guys say its all about the warden you get and what he thinks, just don't have any with holes and he should be cool.
Oceandiver130 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2013, 12:54 AM   #3
friendlyfire
all about keyboard divin